Ninth International Workshop on
Parallel and Distributed Real-Time Systems
and
Sixth International Workshop on
Embedded/Distributed HPC Systems and Applications

WPDRTS 2001 and EHPC 2001

April 23-24, 2001, San Francisco Airport Hyatt
(held in conjunction with the International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium, IPDPS 2001)

The Joint International Workshop on Parallel and Distributed Real-Time Systems and International Workshop on Embedded/Distributed HPC Systems and Applications is a forum for the presentation and discussion of approaches, research findings, and experiences in the applications of large-scale parallel and distributed real-time systems and high performance computing technology for embedded/distributed systems. Of interest are both the development of relevant technology (e.g.: hardware, middleware, tools) as well as the applications built using such technology.

WPDRTS/EHPC brings together industry, academia, and government researchers to discuss and exchange ideas in the area of large-scale parallel and distributed real-time and embedded systems and to explore the special needs and issues in applying these technologies to defense and commercial applications.

This year our technical program includes nineteen technical papers from the areas of infrastructures, dynamic and stochastic real-time systems, scheduling/mapping, QoS and simulation, and wireless and mobile systems.

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Janos Sztipanovits

Dr. Sztipanovits is a program manager at DARPA-ITO, responsible for the management of the Autonomous Negotiating Teams and Model-Based Integration of Embedded Software programs. He is the author of over 130 papers and is the co-author of two books and seven international patents. His work in the area of embedded information systems, structurally adaptive systems and model-integrated computing has been applied and fielded in several major aerospace and manufacturing industry projects.

Complete Technical Program

Steering Committee

Kenji Toda (Chair), Electrotechnical Laboratories, Japan, toda@etl.go.jp
Lonnie R. Welch, Ohio University, welch@ohio.edu
Behrooz A. Shirazi, Univ. of Texas-Arlington, shirazi@cse.uta.edu
Dieter K. Hammer, Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, hammer@win.tue.nl
E. Douglas Jensen, The MITRE Corporation, jensen@real-time.org
Guenter Hommel, Technische Universitat Berlin, hommel@cs.tu-berlin.de
Kinji Mori, Tokyo Institute of Technology, mori@cs.titech.ac.jp
John Stankovic, University of Virginia, stankovic@cs.virginia.edu
Lui Sha, University of Illinois, lrs@cs.uiuc.edu
Wei Zhao, Texas A & M, zhao@cs.tamu.edu

General Program Co-Chairs

David Andrews, University of Kansas, dandrews@eecs.ukans.edu
Devesh Bhatt, Honeywell Laboratories, devesh.bhatt@honeywell.com

Program Chairs

(Chair for Europe and Africa)
Michel Chaudron, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, m.r.v.chaudron@tue.nl
 
(Chair for Asia and Oceania)
Tei-Wei Kuo, National Taiwan University, ktw@csie.ntu.edu.tw
 
(Chair for the Americas)
Scott Brandt, University of California Santa Cruz, sbrandt@cse.ucsc.edu

Program Committee

Tarek Abdelzaher, University of Virginia, USA, zaher@cs.virginia.edu
Jeffrey Hanson, Carnegie Mellon University, USA, jeff_hansen@cmu.edu
Chih-wen Hsueh, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan
David Hutchison, Lancaster University, UK, d.hutchison@lancaster.ac.uk
Valery Issarny, INRIA, France, Valerie.Issarny@inria.fr
Jörg Kaiser, University of Ulm, Germany, kaiser@informatik.uni-ulm.de
Yoshiaki Kakuda, Hiroshima City University, Japan
Young-Kuk Kim, Chungnam National University, Korea
Kam-yiu Lam, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Heung-Kyu Lee, KAIST, Korea
Insup Lee, University of Pennsylvania, USA, lee@cis.upenn.edu
Victor Lee, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Lennart Lindt, Mälardalen University, Sweden, lennart.lindh@mdh.se
G. Manimaran, Iowa State University, USA, gmani@iastate.edu
Al Mok, University of Texas at Austin, USA, mok@cs.utexas.edu
Douglas Niehaus, Univ. of Kansas, USA, niehaus@eecs.ukans.edu
Oscar Nierstrasz, Institut für Informatik (IAM), Switzerland, Oscar.Nierstrasz@iam.unibe.ch
Barb Pfarr, NASA Goddard, USA, Barbara.B.Pfarr.1@gsfc.nasa.gov
Alexander Romanovsky, University of Newcastle, UK, Alexander.Romanovsky@newcastle.ac.uk
Manas Saksena, Timesys Corporation, USA, manas@timesys.com
Heonshik Shin, Seoul National University, Korea
Arcot Sowmya, University of New South Wales, Australia
Jin-wu Suh, ISI, USA, jsuh@east.isi.edu
Shin-Mu Vincent Tseng, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
Rob van Ommering, Philips Research Labs., Netherlands, rob.van.ommering@philips.com
Nalini Venkatasubramanian, University of California at Irvine, USA, nalini@ics.uci.edu
Yoshinori Yamaguchi, Institute of Information Sciences and Electronics, Japan, yamaguti@is.tsukuba.ac.jp

Call for Papers (expired)


Publicity Chair: Amy Apon, University of Arkansas, USA, aapon@comp.uark.edu
Workshop web site:   http://csce.uark.edu/~aapon/wpdrts2001/